Curriculum overview

 To find out more information on the national curriculum please visit

The early years foundations stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. Early years learning concentrates on 7 areas split between prime and specific areas of learning. 

The prime areas of learning are:

  • communications and language

  • physical development

  • personal, social and emotional development.

The specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy

  • mathematics

  • understanding the world

  • expressive arts and design